Transferred

Recently, I read a message from my lawyer telling me of the letters he’s received on my behalf advocating for my release. I want to express my gratitude and appreciation to all of those that have and continue to give me loving support.

That being said, it’s been a while since I’ve written something to post.

It’s not because I haven’t been writing.

I recently completed my first draft manuscript based on the Challenge Program,

after graduating and becoming a mentor prior to being transferred from U.S.P. Canaan to F.C.I. Otisville.

Yes, after being at U.S.P. Canaan since 2008, in October of 2022 I finally agreed to be transferred.

I had been eligible for a transfer since 2013, yet every six months I would refuse because I didn’t have a problem doing my time at one of the most violent penitentiaries in the United States.

It’s not that I’m a tough guy.

I’m far from it.

I’ve been teaching the wellness and Yoga classes for almost a decade,

along with speaking up at the chapel every week about God’s Universal laws,

the importance of the Chakra system and how we create our experience by attracting our life conditions based on the power of our thoughts.

This is a difficult task when a majority of my listeners are sentenced to decades or multiple life sentences. They’re not always receptive to my “You’re creating your own reality” philosophy. But I’ve learned to navigate the negative minefield of emotions and gently guide them to the light with positive advice.

But with all the advice that I was giving, I had to be able to take advice also.

This is what lead to my transfer.

Although I’m known as the Gangster Turned Guru, there was another stigma I was identified as which is being “Penitentiary Burt Out!”

I laughed about the label when it was attached the first time I denied being transferred to a medium facility.

The title only strengthened with every denial, to where they were calling me “Penitentiary Eddie.”

With all the fighting, stabbings, and killings resulting in long lock downs at Canaan, I was the only one to ever refuse a transfer.

I had my own personal reasons, the first being that I have to role model what I’m teaching by maintaining my peace, joy and happiness in an environment that’s considered hell on earth.

But I’ve done that for years.

It was my friend Paradise that finally took the stance telling me to transfer to an F.C.I.

I know how difficult that was for him to tell me since we’re close like brothers.

So I took his advice.

When I fist got to F.C.I. Otisville, the intake officer sat me down and said, “Mr. Wright, you’ve been in a penitentiary for a long time. It’s going to take you about six months at least to adjust.”

“Adjust,” I thought to myself as he continued, “I’ve worked at a Penitentiary for years and when I came here it took me six months to get use to the difference.”

Now after being here close to a year, I realized how right he was…

I would love to hear your thoughts!